Museums

Paros boasts several museums and collections for visitors who wish to experience the history and past way of life of the island. The museums of Paros can be found in several villages, including Parikia, Naoussa, Marpissa and Lefkes.

 

The Benettos Skiadas Museum of Cycladic Folklore

In Aliki, creation met history and was captured in... miniature! The innovative Benettos Skiados Museum of Cycladic Folklore features miniature exhibits: a small fleet of replica ships (naval, commercial and fishing boats), characteristically Cycladic historical monuments and everyday objects.
There is no question that visitors will find the Museum interesting. It comprises an effort to preserve Cycladic tradition and is the result of a detailed and diverse 30-year project.
Wander around the courtyard of the Museum and admire replicas of Panagia Chozoviotissa, the legendary destroyer Elli, the lighthouse of Andros, the cave of Antiparos and many other works of art crafted with care, attention to detail and patience.

 

Folklore Museum of Marpissa

The Folklore Museum of Marpissa was founded by the Marpissa Women's Association and takes visitors on journey through time. The Museum is located in a restored stone building in the town center, on Agios Nikolaos square - a faithful representation of a typical Parian house and all its rooms... just as they were in the past. Foyer, workroom, kitchen, storage room, bathroom and a barber shop next to the entrance. All items exhibited in the museum were donated by citizens of Marpissa and are old, traditional and authentic everyday items. Furniture, loom, utensils, etc . A legacy for future generations. The Folklore Museum of Marpissa is open year round

 

Museums in the villages of Paros

arikia
The Archaeological Museum of Paros features findings from the excavations of Saliangos, including the "Fat Lady" (5000 BC), the first sculpted human form, which welcomes visitors to the museum. Joining her are other Cycladic idols and the findings from both the Mycenaean acropolis at Koukounaries and the excavations of Despotikos. Other impressive exhibits include the statue of Gorgon, with its angry face and snakes around its waist, the statue of the Nike of Paros, the beautiful silhouette of Apiidos and the Parian Chronicle.
The Ecclesiastical Museum at Ekatontapiliani boasts rich exhibits, icons and sacred objects.

Naoussa
Historical Folklore Museum - Othon Kaparis Collection: findings from the Mycenaean acropolis at Koukounaries, ancient coins, photographs and rare books.
Byzantine icon collection at Agios Athanasios, at the entrance to Naoussa.
Folklore Collection of the Music and Dance Troupe: traditional Parian home.

Marpissa
The new Sculpture Museum of sculptor and engraver N. Peratinos in Marpissa features 192 of his works.
Folklore Museum of Marpissa.
Byzantine Art Museum.

Lefkes
Folklore Museum of the Yria Cultural Association.
Private Folklore Collection of Mr. Pittas.

Parikia-Aliki road
Anthemio: Private museum with many rare exhibits.

Aliki
Skorpios: The Benettos Skiadas private museum of Cycladic Folklore, with constructions and miniatures.

 

Historical Folklore Museum - Othon Kaparis Collection

 

The Historical Folklore Museum of Paros (Othon Kaparis Collection), which is located next to the main square of Naoussa, one of the most picturesque villages of Paros, houses the collection of Othon Kaparis, a celebrated and valued Parian doctor.

The collection comprises findings from the Mycenaean Acropolis at Koukounaries, ancient coins, maps, items from the everyday lives of the farmers of Paros, nautical items, historical books, etc.

The Museum also exhibits rich photographic material of Naoussa in the 50s, taken by the doctor himself. Mr Yiannis Vasilopoulos, curator of the Museum, is always on hand to guide visitors around the Museum

 

Nikos Perantinos Sculpture Museum

 

The Nikos Perantinos Sculpture Museum is located on the hill of Marpissa, on the east side of Paros.
Nikos Perantinos is a sculptor and graduate of the School of Fine Arts, Thomas Thomopoulos Workshop, continued his studies in Paris. In 1941, he was appointed permanent sculptor of the Archaeological Museum, where he performed major restorations on ancient sculptures. He was a teacher of simplicity and the classical form, who won many awards and distinctions for his excellent work.
He returned to the island from Paris in 1964 and founded the Marble Sculpture workshop in Agia Anna, aiming to continue the tradition of sculpture in Paros. The workshops are open to people of all ages with a love for sculpture.
The Museum opened in a small hall after his death on Paros in 1991. Ather 18 years, the Board of Directors of the Museum succeeded in expanding the museum, with the assistance of the Municipality of Paros and the Ministry of Culture. Today, the Museum is housed in a beautiful, renovated neoclassical building with five large halls exhibiting sculptures by Nikos Perantinos.

 

Byzantine Museum of Paros

 

The Byzantine Museum of Paros is housed in the Ekatontapiliani complex, in Parikia.

It exhibits rare icons dating from the 17th and 18th century, ecclesiastical items and valuable relics of the post-Byzantine history of Paros.
The collection of icons and relics in Ekatontapiliani began in the early 20th century, at the initiative of the archimandrite and priest of Ekatontapiliani, Georgios Filippos Skaramangas (1867-1944). It initially included items that were found through the centuries in the temple and other churches in Parikia.

The museum shut down after the death of father Georgios Skaramangas, who had been appointed temporary antiquities curator in 1936. On the initiative of the late Bishop Epifanios, the collection was transferred to the three cells on the upper floor of the south wing of the Ekatontapiliani building complex, which had been specially equipped to house it. The Byzantine Museum of Paros operated for a short time in that space. After the death of Bishop Epifanios, the museum shut down for the second time and the collection was stored in a single cell. In 1967, many of the icons in the collection were restored on site by the staff of the then Central Restoration Workshop, and later, in 1980-81, other icons were restored at the Restoration Center for Antiquities, Archaeological Society.

In April 1993, under Bishop Ambrose, a portion of the collection from the 2nd Ephorate of Byzantine Antiquities was once again exhibited, with the cooperation and support of the Executive Board of the Pilgrimage. The rest of the icons were restored in the workshop of the Ephorate.

The new exhibition opened on 21 May 1996, during the celebration of the 17th century of Ekatontapiliani and was housed in three ground floor rooms, one chapel and two halls in the southwest corner of the cell complex of Ekatontapiliani, which were previously used as classrooms by the Primary School of Parikia. The best-preserved pieces were initially displayed.

The first and largest hall mainly exhibits icons, wood carvings can be found in the small chapel, and vestments, clasps, ecclesiastical items and the wooden, carved epitaph of Ekatontapiliani are on display in the third hall. The special display cases in the two smaller rooms feature a few silver items. The rest of the collection is stored in a cell in the complex.

The collection is continually updated with donations and through the addition of newr icons to the collection.